Faith

Snow excuse for letting myself go.

In Uncategorized on February 5, 2009 at 4:44 pm

It’s probably the snow, but I’ve been valuing time spent beneath the duvet more than time spent on grooming and grace this week. Ever since I was given TWO books on how to have elegance and style for Christmas (one could be construed as interesting, two is just insulting) I have been taking a few tips from them and trying to present an elegant and classy visage to the world.

I’ve been very disciplined – cutting out chocolate, booze, pasta and bread, essentially we’re talking a no carbs/alcohol/fun diet, signing up for dance classes and doing the ‘essential maintenance’ that I’ve always ignored, such as turning up the loose hems on my trousers, caring for my cashmere and checking my back view for stray hairs and lint, but this week has seen a swift drop in standards.

While I’ve been cultivating that ‘barely there’ cosmetic art, this week I’ve adopted the ‘not there’ look, and rather than embracing Audrey Hepburn’s ‘tailored silhouette’ approach to styling, I have been wholeheartedly hugging the ‘Rod, Jane and Freddie’ many layered jumpers approach.

I plan to bid farewell to the snow this weekend, and with it, the bulky, bare-faced me. It’s simply not good enough.

Leave a Reply

