Faith

Out, damned spot

In Uncategorized on February 19, 2009 at 5:48 pm

I’ve morphed into a 13-year-old girl overnight.

I’m not referring to my teenage crush on the Killers’ Brandon Flowers after the Brits – but, by the way, How hot is he? – but to my debilitating skin condition.

I am in my 30s. It’s taken me a couple of years to come to terms with that, but I can say it now. So to wake up with not just a couple of blemishes but full on angry, red spots with heads and mascara on, is really very upsetting.

You know how women complain that men look at their cleavage instead of their faces (not a problem I have)? Well, all day, people have been desperately trying to look me in the eye instead of in the vivid growth on my left cheek.

I am grieved that I’ve had to turn a blind eye to the Roc and Clarins products in my bathroom and have spent money this lunchtime, money that could have been otherwise spent in Accessorize, or on nail varnish – on acne products aimed at teenage girls. So I’ll be using my Clearasil along with my anti-ageing Roc wrinkle-vanishing cream, nice juxtaposition.

Tonight I shall be experimenting with ’80s New Romantic hairstyles that drape interestingly across the side of my face, but I don’t think I’ll be posting a picture, soz.

Leave a Reply

