Faith

My best friend’s wedding

In Uncategorized on March 4, 2009 at 9:25 am

I came within a gnat’s eyelash of booking a flight out to New York for the weekend last night. My best friend Louise is getting married at City Hall on Friday, and I wish I could be there to see it happen. She’s going to have a second, bigger wedding back here in the UK next year, but I’d love to be in NYC at noon on Friday.

She’s having a baby in May, and I think, once I get over the fact that all my friends are having children and I’m having to realise that we’re really all grown up now, that she and Dan are going to be fantastic parents. Their relationship is one of the best I’ve ever seen and if there was ever a couple that were meant to be, it’s Louise and Dan.

They met on a holiday to Spain, got chatting, stayed in touch via email and, because she was based in London and he in Seattle, jetted to various glamorous locations to spend time together and get to know one another better. In 2005, they travelled around the world together, and then they both relocated to New York, where they live in a beautiful Chelsea apartment and have quite the most covetable lifestyle I’ve ever seen. It’s truly a modern fairy tale and one that I have to tell anyone I know who frets about never finding Mr So Called Right.

Most of my friends are married, or on the way to being, now, but I am devastated that due to the circumstances of the past couple of months, I can’t justify the expense of heading out for a short break to fling rose petals around and toast them both. So at 5pm on Friday I shall be sure to have a Manhattan and channel happy thoughts to the happy couple.

Leave a Reply

