Faith

Witch watching

In book, cinema, Uncategorized on September 1, 2010 at 11:48 am

I’ve just watched the trailer for the final instalments of the Harry Potter movie series. It looks amazing, I got goosebumps and my eyes prickled with tears – and it’s only two and a half minutes long.

November 19th will see the first part of the Deathly Hallows released, with its conclusion not landing in cinemas until July 2011. I have high, high hopes for it. If I’d had my way, the Half Blood Prince would have been divided too; I was so disappointed at how much had to be cut from my favourite book of the series, and every time I watch it, I lament the loss of some of the scenes I think were vital.

JK Rowling is my heroine. I am in absolute awe of her creativity and imagination. Last night I started re-reading the series (I do this every year) and even know I know every twist and turn in the plot, I still seek little clues and hints to impress myself, as well as the red herrings – I remember telling everyone who would listen (both of them) how Ollivander was an anagram of An Evil Lord, and (spoiler alert) he wasn’t. There you go.

From the moment I read the opening lines of The Philosopher’s Stone, I was hooked, and on three occasions I queued up at midnight to get the final three books in the series and didn’t go to bed, such was my desire to find out what happened next.

When I closed the Deathly Hallows, I actually felt bereft. I am voracious reader and have read countless chronicles, but nothing, from Enid Blyton’s Famous Five and CS Lewis’s Chronicles of Narnia to Larsson’s Millennium Trilogy or Tolkein’s Lord of the Rings, has made me sit there wondering what the hell I’m going to read next and how it can possibly compare.

Already having watched the last movie I know that so much won’t and can’t be adhered to from the Deathly Hallows, but that won’t stop me being more excited by its release than anything else since the Half Blood Prince. Just 78 days to wait…

  1. I love the books. I like the films but Daniel Radcliffe never sat right as Potter for me. They should be spectacular but for me the books were just amazing. I am looking forward to them.

    • I agree. I think he grew into the role, but he’s not how I envisaged Harry. I think without the films being 12 hours each (not an issue for me) they couldn’t have done justice to the books. But it doesn’t stop me griping for three hours after each movie: ‘They missed that. And that. I can’r believe they cut that’…

Leave a Reply

