Faith

Losing weight? Losing motivation.

In gym, health on January 11, 2011 at 1:07 pm

So my great intentions of January have been scuppered by some kind of ear infection. Instead of spending days pounding the cross-trainer and cycling, I have in fact spent days lying on the sofa with a hot water bottle strapped to the side of my head.

I’ve successfully binned any remaining Christmas chocolates and the too-tempting cheese plate has almost depleted now, so I’m hoping that the second half of January will see an improvement.

As it is, I’ve managed a tough body conditioning class and a few sessions with my fit-ball at home – ridiculous as I may look, wobbling around on top of it, there’s no arguing that the squats, crunches and push-ups do help. But I’ve not managed the body pump and body combat classes I’d signed up for with my friend Donna, nor have I managed to stick to the 40k distance training sessions I managed throughout December.

As a result, I’ve managed to put on four lbs in a week, after managing not to put any on over Christmas!

Such depressing stats immediately make me want to have a sandwich to cheer myself up, there’s nothing to make you more inclined to eat for comfort than discovering you’ve put weight on while not eating much!

Thankfully, I’m now able to stand up without holding on to something and I’ve managed not to take any painkillers today, so I’m hopeful that I’ll squeeze a couple of classes in before the end of the week and get back on track. I’m going to need to see some major results fast though to reignite my motivation.

I’m still determined not to buy any new clothes until March so I have plenty of time to focus on toning up and looking good so that when I do hit the shops, I’m spoiled for choice.

 

Leave a Reply

