Faith

Movie madness

In cinema, random thoughts, Uncategorized on March 15, 2011 at 11:35 am

At the beginning of the year, the boy and I bought ourselves unlimited cinema cards and said we wanted to try and see five films a month. We’re well on track. Ten weeks into the year, we’ve notched up 13, some good, some bad, but always a good topic for bickering.

To date, we’ve seen:

  • The Next Three Days (thought this was really good, very tense and quite exciting)
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (I’m too biased to comment rationally on this, everyone knows that I think Harry Potter is the best literary creation ever)
  • Black Swan (worth every award it’s won)
  • The King’s Speech (ditto)
  • The Fighter (really well acted, true story. More than happy to watch Mark Wahlberg with his shirt off indefinitely)
  • Conviction (a bit disappointing, but an amazing and inspiring true story)
  • True Grit (wasn’t expecting to enjoy it but thought this was absolutely excellent)
  • Paul (if I was an 11-year-old boy I expect I’d have loved it)
  • Just Go With It (lighthearted fun, brought home the need to exercise more)
  • No Strings Attached (Again, disappointed. I really like Natalie Portman and Ashton Kutcher but somehow it didn’t work as well as I’d hoped)
  • Unknown (I love Liam Neeson and didn’t see the clever twist in this thriller. I also think all the comparisons to Taken are unfair)
  • Battle: Los Angeles (About 90 minutes too long)
  • Hereafter (I don’t like the whole interacting with the spirit world thing, so not my bag at all, though pretty thought provoking)

I’ve yet to see The Adjustment Bureau, and I’ve done my best to find someone to see Tangled with, butto no avail. And I’m sure there’s something else I’ve seen and forgotten, probably unfairly to it.

And there’s a whole new raft of great looking movies around the corner, including The Lincoln Lawyer and Limitless which are both out this weekend.

I am pleased that I’ve managed to avoid 127 Hours and Tron, but I think I paid for that 30 times over with Battle: LA. Just my opinion…

Nothing will make up for the weekend of July 15th though, when the final instalment of Harry Potter hits screens. That’s going to be a very sad day for me, I am still in mourning for the series of books ending.

  1. Wow, you have been going nearly as much as me! I’ve had an Unlimited card sine they first came out just over ten years ago, essential when you see ten movies a month! As we always agree on movies here are my thoughts on what you have seen:

    The Next Three Days: I missed this one, it is a remake of a French film called Anything For Her, that was an excellent movie and well worth watching if you don’t mind subtitles.

    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: To date I have only seen one of these movies, I will catch up one day.

    Black Swan: by far the best movie of the year.

    The King’s Speech: Great movie + Firth won the Oscar he should have won a year before.

    The Fighter: Great acting but not a great film and the boxing scenes were poorly shot/choreographed.

    Conviction: Didn’t see.

    True Grit: better than the original, Jeff Bridges is a legend and Hailee Steinfeld was sensational.

    Paul: The trailer was so bad I didn’t want to see this but actually enjoyed it in the end.

    Just Go With It: Didn’t see not interested.

    No Strings Attached: not interested Ashton Kutcher is probably the worst actor in the world, ever.

    Unknown: Saw the twist too early to enjoy this one, clearly I have seen Spellbound to many times + I have read the Bourne novels, all been done before. Not as nasty or xenophobic as Taken.

    Battle: Los Angeles: silly and disposable but better than I expected.

    Hereafter; Not up to Eastwood’s usual standards but better than the similar themed Biutiful.

    127 Hours: Brilliant film and the gruesome part only lasts a few seconds, you could always look away.

Leave a Reply

