Faith

Coming round to the Kindle

In book, random thoughts on August 10, 2011 at 2:01 pm

I love reading, always have, always will. Despite the attempted Great Book Amnesty of 2010, which saw me pick up books to give to charitry and then replace them back on the shelf reverently for about four days, when I swore I’d use libraries more and stop buying, I do in fact just keep on buying. And I have nowhere to keep them.

I’ve been toying with, and ultimately turning my nose up at, the idea of buying a Kindle for a while now. I love the whole experience of buying books – the smell of a book shop, the shiny, colourful, soft covers, browsing among them, reading the backs, the flyleafs, making my selections and then the anticipation of getting them home and beginning to devour them.

But this year I might have to succumb. Not only have I now filled half of my own and my parents’ homes with novels, I also can’t bear another year of cramming more books than clothes into my case for a fortnight’s holiday. Ten books, six pairs of shoes, 14 days’ clothes – one case. It just doesn’t go!

So, much as I’ll miss the feeling of fresh paper under my fingers, I think I’m going to have to give into technology. I have to think of all the extra  space I’m going to have. For shoes, maybe. Hmmm.

  1. I love books as well, everything that is related to them. Being a reader is an expensive job (both money and space).

    I received a Kindle for my birthday this year and I have to say that I’m not disappointed at all. I still love books, I still love going to the stores and feel them and buying them and reading paper books (it did not stopped me doing that, it is just at a slower rate), but I also love my Kindle. Maybe it is just me, but reading became easier. Is not like reading a book but is not like staying in front of the computer all the time. For me is something that makes me read more.

    Having a Kindle (or any other book reader I guess) is not giving up on paper books, it just allow you to have every book you want and not worry about space.

Leave a Reply

