Faith

In bloom

In garden, home on August 24, 2011 at 10:52 am

I’m not really the green-fingered type to be honest. I think a well-tended garden looks amazing, and I love having fresh flowers in the house, but when it comes to cultivating them and keeping them alive, I’m not in my comfort zone.

Earlier this year, I went to the Chelsea Flower Show, and was so impressed by the array of gardens and species exhibited.

Inspiring as they were, I was unable to replicate my favourites in my back garden due to the lack of a: space for a swimming pool or magic Faraway tree, and b: thousands of pounds for blue grass, sculptures and established evergreens.

 

What impressed me the most though, above the award-winning gardens, crazy sculptures and bespoke furniture, was the vast array of lilies. I love tulips, roses and lilies, but I’d never seen a display like these – the colours, and the scent, was overwhelming.

I couldn’t afford to buy bulbs for each variety, and amid the exhibition, I spotted the perfect candidate – standing out against the oranges, lilacs, pinks, whites and yellows, the Firebolt lilies, with their distinct deep crimson petals, caught my eye. The fact that they shared the same name as Harry Potter’s broomstick is neither here nor there, honestly.

So, having sought out the guidance of the expert team responsible, I purchased three Firebolt bulbs. They were planted back in May, and this week… this happened:

My Firebolt lilies


Needless to say, I am more than a little smug, and may well take a trip to Chelsea next year to expand my collection.

PS: For those of you that think this was completely out of character, I also bought a hat there… what can I say, I can’t help myself.

Leave a Reply

