Faith

Shoe in

In fashion, shopping on September 20, 2011 at 9:21 am

A while ago, I blogged about a pair of marvellous shoes I had my eye on. I’d been waiting for them to go on sale, but, alas, Dune were wise to my online predatory stalking and failed to rise to the occasion.

Last Monday was my birthday, and I was inundated with annoyed friends and family members muttering about the fact that I was impossible to buy for because I just buy what I want if I want it – the reason for that’s simple enough – I was turning 36, not 21. I don’t think that really warrants gifts on a great scale.

So spretty. So high.

However, turns out people actually read this, because a few days before my birthday, I opened the door to a courier and he had a Dune shoe-box in his hands. I was so excited I shut the door in his face. I obviously re-opened it and apologised, I might add. Sure enough, my best friend Donna had gone way above and beyond and bought me the fabulous stripy shoes I’d been coveting.

The next 40 minutes were a little tense as I discovered that the matching clutch had sold out online across the board – Dune, John Lewis, House of Fraser… all of them had a little ‘out of stock’ footnote beside the bag.

I tore into Solihull to John Lewis and was told by a lovely saleswoman that they too had sold out of the bag. She contacted every other branch of John Lewis, and they sadly confirmed that they too had sold out and couldn’t have it sent to the branch. Alas. Perhaps I was destined not to be well co-ordinated. No, I don’t give up that easily.

 

I called House of Fraser in Sutton Coldfield and Birmingham. No joy. And then, I remembered that there was a HoF in Solihull, I never remember it as it’s tucked away from the main shopping area.

Quest complete

I shuffled over and up the escalators to the shoe department, and half way up the moving stair, I saw it. On the top shelf. Gleaming in the lights, its jewel colours vibrant and all striped and silky and lovely. I think the assistant thought I was barking as she confirmed that it was the last in stock and wrapped it up for me, but she was under no illusions that she’d made me very happy.

The boyfriend was somewhat bemused at my endeavours that night, you’d think he’d get it, but he doesn’t. I showed him my treasures and watched as his jaw dropped and he erupted. It seems, after all that, that the reason John Lewis in Solihull had sold out was because his family had bought me the shoes and bag.

While they were then returned, I did feel guilty, but it just goes to show, not only am I damn lucky, but one way or another, if you want something badly enough, you’ll get it. Sometimes twice.

Leave a Reply

