Faith

How to have your project hijacked: do it over a bank holiday

In Uncategorized on June 6, 2012 at 10:25 am

So, I thought it was too good to be true. Four days off, and so much progress made on my revamped kitchen project… all of the cabinet doors have been hand-painted and been given new handles, while all of the nasty wood panelling and the boiler cupboard has been revitalised in caramel paint.

Image

ImageI’d got Adam to agree that we’d fit shelves in the alcoves for our cookbooks and my Le Crueset casseroles, and we’d agreed that we’d replace the floor with vintage smoked elm boards. I could actually see it all in my mind’s eye.

But then, Adam decided to chisel all the tiles from the walls.

Image

This is what happens when you let someone else get involved

Don’t get me wrong, they were ugly, but they were a million times better with the new white cupboards as opposed to the wooden ones. But, as I knew it would, this new development led to the following scenario

A: ‘That looks so much better, doesn’t it?’

F: ‘It’s bare plaster with chunks missing.’

A: ‘We’ll have to get it skimmed and then we’ll put new tiles up.’

F: ‘You’ve wrecked the cooker.’

A: ‘Well we’ll get a new cooker too.’

Five minutes later:

A: ‘We could get all of the walls skimmed.’

Two hours later:

A: ‘We could just buy new cupboards?’

So, my project has transformed from upcycling the kitchen with paint and accessories to us spending thousands on new electricals, plastering, tiling and, I expect, new cupboards, meaning that all the money, not to mention the three full days, I spent preparing and painting the cabinets was a complete waste of time.

Image

My end result of phase one – but was it all in vain?

Sad face.

  1. I’ve been where you are a thousand time before…
    I hate doing things in vain, but think of it this way – until you completely revamp the kitchen, it looks so much better than before, plus you learned a lot and possibly even had some fun!

    • I’m hoping I’ll be allowed to carry on to my original plans, but I doubt it, somehow!

  2. Never fails that something always happens, but at least you made a great kitchen transformation. Congratulations! 🙂

    • That’s really kind, thank you. A lot to do yet – largely standing my ground on sticking to the original theme! x

Leave a Reply

