Faith

Kitchen Nightmares

In decorating, home on November 14, 2012 at 6:03 pm

So, it’s been some months since I could bear to commit thoughts to paper/pad/screen and discuss the arduous progress of what has fast become known in my circle as The Bastard Kitchen.

However, I’m delighted to report that seven months later, it is complete. Things changed a bit. We sacked off the shabby chic eau de nil/vintage ivory up-cycled theme I first dallied with I’m favour of (three guesses…) purple!

As it goes, before you ask, I didn’t paint the whole thing and fill it with violently violet accessories like some Prince fantasy, we went for smart white lines and modern white accessories with a sumptuous purple backdrop, teamed with my must-have wine glass light and our canvases of choice.

Considering we both wanted very different things, I think that the fact that the kettle looks like a stormtrooper and when illuminated, the cupboards look like there’s an alien landing, while Audrey Hepburn presides on high means that we’ve managed a compromise extremely well and somehow both feel like we got our own way.

On the whole, I’d have to say that the endless expense and time was worth it… Just. I know I’m biased, but I LOVE it. What do you think?

20121114-180925.jpg

20121114-181010.jpg

20121114-181054.jpg

20121114-181143.jpg

20121114-181241.jpg

20121114-181314.jpg

20121114-181541.jpg

Leave a Reply

